Courage - Scholarship - Community
Amy Biehl High School Equity Council

Amy Biehl High School Equity Council

Amy Biehl High School leadership team viewed the PEDs Webinar on CLR Practice and Equity Councils on Monday, Dec. 2nd – The first opportunity we were able to queue up on the site given participation was limited to 20.  In the Webinar we learned that the deadline for posting both the council names and the process was due on December 20th – That gave our team 14 working days to meet this deadline.  Considering that these were the final three weeks of the semester and ABHS leadership had a very short window to meet PED’s deadline, ABHS Leadership recognized that recruiting specific members who met the Equity Council criteria was the best and most realistic route to meet PED’s requirement.

ABHS Leadership then brainstormed a list of faculty and staff, students, parents and guardians, and community members who would represent the four populations named in the Martinez/Yazzie lawsuit.  The Executive Director then reached out to each individual and personally invited them to join the council.  Following are the Equity Council Members:

Frank McCulloch – Executive Director/Principal, National Board Certified Teacher

Halley Wheeless – Dean of Instruction, National Board Certified Teacher

Stephanie Becker – Director of Civic Engagement

Monico Candelaria – Social Worker

Christina Herrera – Furst – Faculty Member

Sue Perea – Special Ed. Director

Valeria Martinez – Student

Britta Herweg-Samuels – Parent – Pending based on council meeting expectations

Xochitl Campos Biggs – Community Member – Pending based on council meeting expectations

Read the original notice below.

Amy Biehl High School Equity Council


Amy Biehl High School(ABHS) a tuition free, college prep, diverse and lottery driven state charter high school is located in Albuquerque, NM, contact the school for more information.

Sorry, comments are closed for this post.